Post-Apocalyptic Book List PostApoc.Net Member
Search
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

One Second After

Written By:William R. Forstchen - 2009

  • One Second After - William R. Forstchen cover

Synopsis

One Second After is the story of a man's struggle to save his family and his small North Carolina town after America loses a war that sends our nation back to the Dark Ages. A war lost because of a terrifying weapon, an Electromagnetic Pulse (EMP)... that may already be in the hands of our enemies.

Blurb

New York Times bestseller

A security issue so important it has become the topic of a congressional debate and a National Geographic special

Months before publication, One Second After was cited on the floor of Congress as a book all Americans should read. It has been discussed in the corridors of the Pentagon as a realistic look at EMPs and their awesome ability to send catastrophic shockwaves throughout the United States, literally within seconds. EMPs are a weapon that The Wall Street Journal warned could shatter our nation. In the tradition of On the Beach, Fail-Safe, and Testament, this book, set in a typical American town, is a dire warning of what might be our future... and our end.

"A riveting cautionary tale." —Booklist

"Civilization slides into the abyss of a new dark age in this horrifying apocalyptic novel. Forstchen has put Bin Laden's wet dream on paper and, in the process, takes civilization straight to the rack." —Stephen Coonts, New York Times bestselling author of The Assassin

"Wonderful, very skillful, very insightful." —Larry Niven, New York Times bestselling coauthor of Lucifer's Hammer

"Good storytelling consists very simply of creating characters so believable that the reader forms a deep bond. Forstchen did such a damned fine job with One Second After that shortly after the first page, I had been reeled in hook, line, and sinker." —David Hagberg, USA Today bestselling author of Dance with the Dragon

"A blood-chilling wake-up call that chaos and death are but a power plug away... Stock up on food, water, medicine, and batteries now. This horror could happen tomorrow." —William B. Scott, former editor and bureau chief of Aviation Week and Space Technology and coauthor of Space Wars

"One of the most intriguing writers today in the field of historical and military science fiction." —Harry Turtledove, New York Times bestselling author of The Guns of the South

Catastrophe:

technology

Type:

realistic