Post-Apocalyptic Book List
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Dying Earth

The Eyes of the Overworld

Written By:Jack Vance - 1966

  • The Eyes of the Overworld  - Jack Vance cover


Set on a far future Dying Earth illuminated by the diminishing light of a senile sun. Here Cugel is transported by a magician he has wronged to a distant country to retrieve magical lenses that reveal the Overworld. Conniving to steal the lenses, he escapes and, goaded by a homesick monster magically attached to his liver, struggles to find his way home to Almery. The journey takes him across trackless mountains, wastelands, and seas. Through cunning and dumb luck, the relentless Cugel survives one catastrophe after another, fighting off bandits, ghosts, and ghouls—stealing, lying, and cheating without insight or remorse, leaving only wreckage behind.




Other Titles in the list