Post-Apocalyptic Book List PostApoc.Net Member
Advanced View Show All Novels Only Series Only Trilogies Only

Ashes, The

Smoke from the Ashes

Written By:William W. Johnstone - 1987

  • Smoke from the Ashes - William W. Johnstone cover


After the fires of oblivion, one man's bold dream for an America reborn!

A Nation's Last Hope

The devastating nuclear nightmare of the Great War of '88 brings civilization to the brink od destruction. Only Ben Raines, famed soldier and survival expert, and his ragged band of followers share the dream of rebuilding a new country out of the smoldering ashes—a country once known as America.

In this hellish new world, Ben Raines must confront two of the world's deadliest threats to freedom's cause. Swarming westward across America's southern tier march the avenging soldiers of Libyan blood terrorist Khamasin, intent on reducing all that remains of "The Great Satan" to an improverished slave state. Lurking in the blackened ruins of America's once great cities are the real devils among men—the mutant Night People, crazed killers of all who dare to enter their plague-ridden domain. Only Ben Raines, his son Buddy, and a handful of Ben's rebel army remain to strike a blow for the survival of America and the future of the free world!



Ben Raine's eyes caught the glint of sunlight off metal or glass in the tall grass by the side of the overpass. Might be a sniper up there, he thought. He turned back to Big Louie.

"What about it?" Ben asked.

Louie's lips grew pouty. "Ultimatums, general? That's not a very nice way to begin a relationship."

The man standing beside Louie suddenly turned, stepping to one side, a movement that put him directly in front of Ben.

A moment later the sound of a rifle booming reached them.

The slug hit the man's battle harness, and an explosion momentarily deafened Ben just as the man in front of him seemed to disintegrate before Ben's eyes.

Then the rifle cracked again and something smacked Ben on the back of his head, dropping him into darkness...




Other Titles in the Ashes, The list

1     Out of the Ashes

2     Fire in the Ashes

3     Anarchy in the Ashes

4     Blood in the Ashes

5     Alone in the Ashes

6     Wind in the Ashes

7     Smoke from the Ashes

8     Danger in the Ashes

9     Valor in the Ashes

10     Trapped in the Ashes

11     Death in the Ashes

12     Survival in the Ashes

13     Fury in the Ashes

14     Courage in the Ashes

15     Terror in the Ashes

16     Vengeance in the Ashes

17     Battle in the Ashes

18     Flames from the Ashes

19     Treason in the Ashes

20     D-Day in the Ashes

21     Betrayal in the Ashes

22     Chaos in the Ashes

23     Slaughter in the Ashes

24     Judgement in the Ashes

25     Ambush in the Ashes

26     From the Ashes: America Reborn

27     Triumph in the Ashes

28     Hatred in the Ashes

29     Standoff in the Ashes

30     Crisis in the Ashes

31     Tyranny in the Ashes

32     Warriors in the Ashes

33     Destiny in the Ashes

34     Enemy in the Ashes

35     Escape from the Ashes

36     The Last Rebel: Survivor